Sun, 13 Jun 2021

NBA, players form social justice coalition

Field Level Media
21 Nov 2020, 02:40 GMT+10

The NBA and its players association on Friday introduced the National Basketball Social Justice Coalition, a group of executives, coaches and players that will lead efforts to advance equality and social justice.

The organization said its mission is to enact change in several areas, including criminal justice reform and access to voting.

The coalition will be led by a board of 15 members. Commissioner Adam Silver, deputy commissioner Mark Tatum, and Michele Roberts, executive director of the National Basketball Players Association, will be joined by five team governors, five players and two coaches.

The NBA governors on the inaugural coalition are: Micky Arison, Miami Heat; Steve Ballmer, Los Angeles Clippers; Clay Bennett, Oklahoma City Thunder; Marc Lasry, Milwaukee Bucks; and Vivek Ranadive, Sacramento Kings.

The players are: Carmelo Anthony, Portland Trail Blazers; Avery Bradley, Los Angeles Lakers; Sterling Brown, Bucks; Donovan Mitchell, Utah Jazz; and Karl-Anthony Towns, Minnesota Timberwolves.

Representing the coaches are Lloyd Pierce of the Atlanta Hawks and Doc Rivers of the Philadelphia 76ers.

Amid social unrest this year, the NBA and NBPA emerged as leaders in efforts to address racial and social inequalities and injustice.

--Field Level Media

More Delaware News

Access More

Sign up for Delaware State News

a daily newsletter full of things to discuss over drinks.and the great thing is that it's on the house!